kosher

What is Kosher?

Kosher is a Hebrew term that means “appropriate” or “suitable,” and it refers to foods that are permitted according to Jewish law. Kosher food is based on the guidelines given in the Torah, and it does not mean that food is “blessed” by a rabbi, but that it adheres to a set of religious laws.

Kosher products are divided into three main categories: Meat, Dairy, and Parve (Neutral).

  1. Meat: Only animals that have split hooves and chew their cud, such as cattle or sheep, as well as certain poultry (chicken, turkey, some ducks), are considered kosher. These animals must be ritually slaughtered by an expert (called a shohet), and the meat must be properly processed to remove the blood. Non-kosher animals include pigs, camels, rabbits, and carnivorous animals.
  2. Dairy: Milk and dairy products (cheese, cream, butter, etc.) from kosher animals are also kosher. If a product contains dairy, it must carry the kosher symbol with a “D” to indicate that it is dairy.
  3. Parve (Neutral): This refers to foods that contain neither meat nor dairy, such as fruits, vegetables, grains, water, and eggs from kosher birds. Parve products are neutral, but they should not be cooked or served with meat or dairy, as they could take on the status of meat or dairy if mixed.

Additional Considerations:

  • Meat must be carefully inspected and prepared according to kosher requirements.
  • Products from Israel have special kosher regulations.
  • Fruits and vegetables must be inspected to ensure they are free from insects, which are not kosher.
  • Any food that comes into contact with non-kosher equipment may become non-kosher.

To ensure that food is kosher, supervision by a kosher law expert is necessary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related content

Related content